• Staci

New thriller releases you MUST read!


If you've been reading my blog for a while, you probably know by now that I am an avid lover of thriller books. If it has a crime to be solved, I'm in. That's why I was so happy when I recently had the chance to have some (relatively) uninterrupted reading time at the cottage when I could make my way through no less than three new thriller reads. I had to share these with you. You'll definitely want to add these to your TBR list!

Here we go...


A Noise Downstairs, by Linwood Barclay


Chit. Chit. Chit.

Paul Davis hears some troubling things in the night. He is awakened several times by the unmistakable sound of a someone typing on his vintage Underwood typewriter, a gift from his wife. There's only one problem: It seems only he can hear the sounds.

Paul, who suffered a traumatic head injury as a result of an attack eight months prior to hearing the typing, begins to question his sanity. Is he losing it, or is something sinister really going on? Paul starts to wonder whether there's a connection between the typewriter and his attacker, a former colleague who came to be known as "The Apology Killer" after he made his victims type out personal apologies to him before he viciously slit their throats.

This is one of the most satisfying psychological thrillers I've read in a long time. Just when you think the plot has come to its conclusion, Barclay blindfolds you and throws you down another dark hallway toward another twist. And the best part is, so wrapped up in the story are you that you are utterly willing to go along for the ride. Fans of Harlan Coben, Stephen King, and Edgar Allen Poe alike will appreciate this darkly sinister book that has will leave you wanted to read all of Barclay's other books. I know I will be putting his other titles on my wish list. My birthday is in October. Just sayin'.

Believe Me, by JP Delaney


From the author of The Girl Before comes a serial killer thriller that will keep you guessing right to the end.

When British actress Claire finds herself in America without a green card and without a job, she jumps at the chance to work as a decoy for a detective agency to help entrap husbands with wandering intentions. Soon, she finds herself involved in a situation she didn't bargain for. One of her target's wives ends up dead and the police want her to lure the husband into confessing to the crime.

This is the ultimate cat-and-mouse story with a twist. Nothing is ever as it seems. The reader is never quite sure who is the prey and who is the predator as the plot speeds forward toward a conclusion you won't see coming. I can almost guarantee it.

An Unwanted Guest, by Shari Lapena


Remember that blockbuster hit from last year, The Couple Next Door? (No? Then you need to read my review, here. Bestselling author Shari Lapena is back again with her latest work, An Unwanted Guest.

An eclectic mix of strangers find themselves stranded by stormy weather at a secluded inn. What was supposed to be a relaxing weekend away takes a murderous turn when one of the guests turns up dead. And then another. And another.

The guests are faced with a horrifying reality: Either someone is secretly roaming around the inn killing the guests one by one, or the killer is one of them. Trust no one. Suspect everyone. Will the storm end in time for help to arrive, or will time run out for the remaining guests at the inn?

After reading The Couple Next Door I couldn't wait for Shari Lapena to write another book. This one was certainly worth the wait. I devoured this book, at once eager to find out the conclusion and wanting to savour every word of the tense, compelling mystery. It's the kind of story you want to inhabit, truly immersing yourself in the terrifying situation in which the characters find themselves. From the secluded inn to the isolating storm, Lapena creates a claustrophobic setting for this thriller that draws the reader in through the doors of the inn, locking them up tight and not letting them escape until the last page is turned. Fans of modern thrillers and lovers of the classic, Agatha Christie-style whodunnit alike won't be able to resist this book.


0 views
  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round